The old Norfolk & Western train depot in Marion, Virginia. Built in 1904 in Queen Anne Style, it was converted into space for office and retail use in 1993-1994. It is an architectural gem!
This former courthouse was built in 1799 by Henry Dickenson in Russell County, Virginia. A stone building, the structure replaced a log courthouse that was burned during the Revolutionary War. A brick wing was added to the stone structure by the Robert Dickenson family between 1830 and 1850. Used as a residence until the 1970's, the courthouse began to undergo a restoration process in 1976. The building is now listed in the National Register of Historic Places and is a Virginia Landmark. It is now restored and open to the public. The former jail was located in the basement of the stone house, with the door visible in the lower left portion of the photograph.
The placid waters of the oxbow lake in St. Paul Virginia provide a stunning reflection of the summer green covered hillside! The lake is a result of the Clinch River being redirected for flood control. Encircled by a paved walking trail, it provides an excellent recreation area for the nearby residents and visitors to St. Paul, Virginia.